Amazon Fine Food Reviews


IDIdProductIdUserIdProfileNameHelpfulnessNumeratorHelpfulnessDenominatorScoreTimeSummaryText
213571213571B00141OVJAA2QQYXVRJ25OOKN. Carpenter "Antique Nancy"4541235606400Not for big dogsThese are loved by my big (65 lb) dogs, but they do not chew them because they are small. The jerky type treats are very hard and give them stomach aches. The strips by this company are a better choice for big dogs.
213572213572B00141OVJAA3GCL33U5LHH7DBob6811325721600DO NOT BUY...MADE IN CHINAI'm very disappointed when the company promised our offices they were a USA company, then I find out that they are actually manufacture in CHINA, and only distributed in the USA. I no longer will buy any Dogswell products. With so many dogs dying from dog products made in CHINA, it is essential to only buy from USA companies who have a GREAT track record. I no longer will buy dog products that are made in CHINA.

Write to the President and Founder of Dogswell, Marco Giannini
213573213573B00141OVJAA2VOS0QU40O0QSrunnergirl276811322697600Made in china! Do not buy these!My dogs love these too and I never thought to check where they were made. They look all healthy cage free chicken, omega 3s, blah blah blah.. Someone at the store brought this to my attention as she was looking for treats not made in china. To my horror just about all dog treats are NOT even made in USA. So sad and disappointing. ZERO stars!
213574213574B00141OVJAA2GHU8I0P3HFRWWandrwoman "Wise as Aphrodite, Beautiful as A...6811318809600DO NOT BUY!! Please read FDA Health Warning Below!From :[..]
FDA issues health warning to veterinarians, pet owners about chicken jerky products from China
Nov 21, 2011
DVM NEWSMAGAZINE

Rockville, Md. -- The U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA) issued a warning to veterinarians and pet owners about chicken jerky products imported from China, after seeing an increase in dog illnesses over the last 12 months.

The illnesses, attributed to consumption of chicken jerky products from China--also sold as chicken tenders, strips or treats--were reported to FDA by both veterinarians and pet owners.

FDA first issued a cautionary warning about chicken jerky products in September 2007, and again in December 2008. Complaints dropped off in late 2009 and for most of 2010, FDA says, but the agency is once again seeing a rise in cases.

The agency is advising consumers who feed their dogs chicken-jerky products to watch for these clinical signs:

* decreased appetite,

* decreased activity,

* vomiting,

* diarrhea (sometimes with blood),

* increased water consumption,

* and/or increased urination.

If the dog shows any of these signs, FDA says pet owners should stop feeding the chicken-jerky product. Pet owners should also consult their veterinarian if signs are severe or persist for more than 24 hours, FDA says.

Blood tests may indicate kidney failure (increased urea nitrogen and creatinine). Urine tests may indicate Fanconi syndrome (increased glucose). Although most dogs appear to recover, some adverse event reports have involved mortality.

FDA says it is working with several animal health diagnostic laboratories to determine why the products are causing illness. Despite extensive chemical and microbial testing, FDA adds it has not been able to identify a contaminant yet.

FDA is also asking veterinarians to report cases of animal illness associated with pet foods to the FDA Consumer Complaint Coordinator in their state or Click here

ORIGINAL REVIEW:I've been awarding this "Chicken Breast, Flaxseed & Vitamins" strip of chicken jerky to my 25 pound mixed breed dog for over a year without any problem. In fact, this is her favorite dog food treat, valued almost as high as freshly cooked chicken or sliced Swiss cheese. The instructions say she can have up to two a day and if it were up to her, she would happily devour the entire bag (including much of the packaging).
213575213575B00141OVJAA38NPB6OT7LM20Bookseller "pbtad"1111347753600FDA says pet death toll from jerky treats now at 360Dogswell jerky treat come China. They are not safe. I've had a subscribe and save subscription for the product, but I've calcelled after reading this story from September 15, 2012. (Just search for the article's title, which is the same as my review.)
----
The FDA now says 350 dogs and one cat have died in the last 18 months, reportedly after eating chicken jerky treats made in China.

An FDA report released this week says they've received 2,200 reports of illnesses linked to the treats - the deaths are included in that number. There is no geographic pattern to the illnesses and deaths - cases have been reported from all 50 states and 6 Canadian provinces.

The FDA says the majority of complaints involve chicken jerky (treats, tenders, and strips), but others include duck, sweet potato, and treats where chicken or duck jerky is wrapped around dried fruits, sweet potatoes, or yams.

The report goes on to say that in the past 10 years, there has been a dramatic increase in importation of pet food from China. It is estimated that nearly 86 million pounds of pet food came from China in 2011. Pet treats, including jerky pet treats, are currently considered the fastest growing segment in the pet food market.

The FDA has been investigating the reports of illnesses, but no definitive cause has been determined.

"The ongoing global investigation is complex, multifaceted and includes a wide variety of experts at the FDA including toxicologists, epidemiologists, veterinary researchers, forensic chemists, microbiologists, field investigators and senior agency officials," the report says.

The FDA says product samples have been tested for contaminants known to cause the symptoms and illnesses reported in pets, and they are now expanding testing to include irradiation byproducts and they are consulting with NASA experts about it.

In their report, the FDA says jerky treats are not necessary for pets to have a balanced diet - basically advising people not to feed them to their pets. But if you choose to give your pet the treats, watch them closely for any or all of the following signs that may occur within hours to days of feeding the products: decreased appetite; decreased activity; vomiting; diarrhea, sometimes with blood; increased water consumption and/or increased urination.
213576213576B00141OVJAA3ARVWLRF8WPPZLilly Miller1151335225600Dogs FAVORITE treats - stinks that they are sourced from China!Far and away these are my dogs favorite treats - and I've always liked the fact that it's really just pure jerky with a few added beneficial ingredients. She really loves the "Duck" Happy Hips the most for whatever reason, but she also likes the Chicken Vitality Treats and sometimes the Chicken Happy Hips.

She started eating these intially (when I first brought her home) because my local Safeway used to sell them at a decent price buy one, get one free. I would stockpile like crazy whenever they went on sale and as she got pickier and pickier as she got healthier these remained one of the few treats she would eat.

Unfortunately I know that "free range" chicken (or duck, or any poultry, really) doesn't mean a thing as the requirements for a farm to be called free range are not stringent at all. Pretty much they will pile them up on top of each other but so long as they can "touch the ground" (not in cages) it's "free range." (Ugh, now I remember why I've been a vegetarian for 15+ years....)

I have heard of a number of issues with the jerky chicken treats sourced from China and I keep closely monitoring her for any changes; in the interim I limit the amount of treats she gets anyway and the air dried raw food she eats is sourced from New Zealand. Hopefully I will eventually be able to find something to replace these with, but until then I'm fairly confident about them.

After all, I feel better feeding these even if they ARE sourced from China because they are (at least) not irridiated and I feel better feeding these than the biscuit-style treats that have little nutriotional value.

Unfortunately my Safeways finally stopped their buy-1 get-1 sales and raised their prices accordingly so I started orderign online via Amazon. I'm cautious whenever I open a new package of ANY kind of treats so I really like the fact that I now buy the larger packages for "bulk" discounts. It means I am using the same bags longer.

Of course not all treats are for all dogs, and if I was starting from scratch I'd probably avoid feeding her these. (I really like Jones Natural Chews and would love to try their USA-sourced jerky) However, considering I'm on a very tight budget at the moment and she is picky beyond belief I have to made do.
213577213577B00141OVJAA2N8ZUVVQTO667L. Sy "Bona Vita"1151317427200Please continue to sell.Enough of these misinformation.

The FDA has investigated this product since 2007 and have not found any problems with the product. FDA recently issued updated report dated 3/9/2012.

Google:
"Questions and Answers Regarding Chicken Jerky Treats from China" by March 9, 2012 issued by FDA

"
What is FDA testing for?
Since 2007, FDA has been actively investigating the cause of illness in pets reported in association with the consumption of chicken jerky products. Samples have been tested by FDA laboratories, by the Veterinary Laboratory Response Network (Vet-LRN), and by other animal health diagnostic laboratories in the U.S for multiple chemical and microbiological contaminants.
Product samples were tested for Salmonella, metals, furans, pesticides, antibiotics, mycotoxins, rodenticides, nephrotoxins (such as aristolochic acid, maleic acid, paraquat, ethylene glycol, diethylene glycol, toxic hydrocarbons, melamine and related triazines) and were screened for other chemicals and poisonous compounds. DNA verification was conducted on these samples to confirm the presence of poultry in the treats. Samples have also been submitted for nutritional composition (which includes glycerol concentrations), vitamin D excess and enterotoxin analysis. Some samples from recent cases (2011-2012) have been submitted for multiple tests and we are awaiting results. More samples are in the process of being collected for testing.

What are the results of testing?
Samples collected from all over the United States have been tested for a wide variety of substances and to date, scientists have not been able to determine a definitive cause for the reported illnesses.

Has there been any indication that metal contamination in chicken jerky products may be the cause of illness in dogs?"
FDA's previous testing of chicken jerky product samples did not show toxic levels of metals. In addition, results from March 2012 toxic metal analyses, which included tests for heavy metals, have again shown samples of chicken jerky products to be negative for toxic metals.
"

Amazon, please continue sale of this product. I have been a loyal buyer for the past 4 years and this has consistently been her favourite treat, second only to home-made Chicken Jerky fresh from the oven.
213578213578B00141OVJAA2AATNV23IU6FASusan Krug1151287100800Dog treatsMy dog loves these, she can't wait to get one in the morning. I would definately buy these treat if I had a fussy dog who didn't like dog treats.
213579213579B00141OVJAA3VIFFLPOWTJHUAli1151285113600Your dog will love these!My dog got hooked on these pretty young, and now they're the only "treat" he'll eat. My mom had been giving them to her dog, and when he stayed over there he got a taste of them and went crazy. They seem to be relatively healthy, and we can make them last a long time. My dog is a wanderer, and the best way we've found to keep him close, is to give him a piece of one of these when we whistle and he comes home. Since we've gotten him trained, he always comes back to a whistle. He's a small dog so we usually only give him about 1/3 of one of these, and one bag will last us a month. If you do the subscription plan with Amazon, the price ends up being very reasonable.
213580213580B00141OVJAA3PQ8BGBBM2VA4Alice J. Derubba "Peppers Mom"1151278892800DogswellMy dog loves these and to buy them locally is too expensive. These are shipped quickly and a lot cheaper too!!
213581213581B00141OVJAA3BC3FHWJDXYRQKenneth m Wimer1151276992000Very fussy Peek-A-Poo loves This TreatWe have purchased Dogswell for dogs
for many years, they keep our 12 year Old Peek-a-poo health and strong
it works wonders for us, and that all good

[...]
213582213582B00141OVJAA33P75LSXU1NMZC. Zweigoron1151272844800Amanda's treatsMy dog Amanda, loves all the Dogswell products, particularly the biscuits and jerky treats!!!

Much better priced through Amazon, than the local pet supermarket!!

Thank you.
213583213583B00141OVJAA11WIDIL1DBLYNJoanna L. Nason "Joanna Nason"1151250467200Great productAMAZON PLEASE BRING BACK THE 15-16 OUNCE BAGS IN BEEF LIVER!!!!!!!!!!!! Shipping is crazy at some of your stores selling the bigger bags,,I have been using this for over 3 years and my German Shep loves them as a treat at night but the little bags are way to small..Thanks Joanna
213584213584B00141OVJAA2QL2IQX7F9FQJVictoria Bryan1151242345600Dog loves "emMy dog loves these, as do the 3 dogs that I walk - and they're all quite fussy. Great for training and easy to stuff in pockets.
213585213585B00141OVJAA2Y13Q771A5YE5T. Stacy1151241481600BOW WOW YUMMYMy boys just love them....they will dance for them soon as they hear the krinkle of the bag. I purchased them because my tiny toy poodle had a hip problem and didn't want to jump up on the sofa, after a week he was jumping with no problems!!!
213586213586B00141OVJAA32T498Z7YKZEAPamela J. Castillo "cas92708"1141239062400My picky Chihuahua LOVES it!I've tried giving my dog more treats than I can count, and this is about the only thing my picky Chihuahua goes nuts for. We give pieces to her in the morning before we leave for work and that keeps her preoccupied so she doesn't feel sad we are leaving her. It's better for your dog than rawhide and gives them the chewing satifaction that they crave.
213587213587B00141OVJAA1U28R7MOMJNLZPatricia A. Hunter1151238889600MAGSTER'S FLAVOR FAVOur six year old Shih Tzu Maggie simply loves this treat which we were recently turned on to. Now it is the first thing in the morning she wants and gets and if she could the last thing in the evening. Maggie turns her nose up to other treats since buying this product even Greenies. Viva la Dogswell Vitality Chicken strips.
213588213588B00141OVJAA2RVB98KMKIGUSSusan E. Wellhausen "mamasue"1151238371200AwesomeGreat product. My dog thinks she is getting a treat and it is realy good for her.
213589213589B00141OVJAA1NJXFN4V5AUOLKaren Delgrosso1151237507200100% ChickenJust what I had been looking for in a reward for my cocker, no fat & she just loves them, they are just dehydrated chicken breast, about the size of a quarter, crisp & we snapped them in half to use as rewards. Great stuff, with no stomach upset like you see after feeding some of those doggie cookies, biscuits, or processed items.
213590213590B00141OVJAA1YCBKIKGJX4OJTessa's Mom1151236729600Great healthy treatAll four of my dogs love these treats and I love that they are good for them.
213591213591B00141OVJAANWBTNWFJC4FFJennifer Farley "Love Commando"1151236470400Great size, appeal, and food value for SMALL dogsJerky-type treat, too big for my Yorkshire Terrier to swallow whole, which is great, I have worried a lot about the super-mini "greenies" but everyone has always been fine.
Anyway, at a special sale price, these are GREAT in every possible way. The only hesitation I would ever have for a human companion of a 20lb and under fur baby is the cost.
213592213592B00141OVJAA1O2NRPHD3OPDBKate "Scotty Dogs!"1151235779200Great treat!My dogs love these. They'd eat them all day long if they could! I feel good about feeding them because I know they're a healthy treat.
213593213593B00141OVJAA2LA5TKLYVTOF0C. Westover "Dachsie Mom"1151231804800My dog loves these !My dog (miniature dachshund) is not a treat-eater and turns her nose up at most treats, organic or not. However, she'll literally bounce her way to me and run like crazy to get one of these. They're of a softer consistency than the chicken breasts and don't stick in her throad like some of the other dried treats.
213594213594B00141OVJAA1NAF17VJCIL71Honeybunch2351307577600Excellent productI adopted a 6 year old female Yorkie a year ago. She had been rescued from a puppy mill in Missouri where she had multiple litters of puppies and was caged in a small kennel. She looked pitiful when I got her. She had never had a treat of any kind, but soon understood what it was. These Dogswell Vitality treats with Flaxseed and Vitamins have contributed to transforming her (Brees) coat and skin. She looks beautiful now. I like that this treat has no added hormones, no fillers and no byproducts. The only downside is that it is made in China.
213595213595B00141OVJAA4M6KDPANOBF5W. Chang2351300924800my dog's favoriteThis is the only one treat my dog really gets into.
Every time I struggled to sneak out from the house and leave my dog behind,
this treat is the only one works for me for the moment.
He even doesn't see me to eat this..

Made in china but my dog have been eating this for over 2 years and he's still very healthy!
213596213596B00141OVJAA20RDJ4OKOWPOFPat0011350604800Proceed With CautionMy beloved black Lab recently experienced liver failure. The vet said he was 24 hours away from death. At the time he was eating the Dogswell Vitality Chicken
strips as a treats. Though it would be impossible to say that these treats caused the problem, I would proceed with caution. If it does not say that the product ingredients come from the USA and that the product is also made in the USA, I no longer buy it. I will pay more for a product made here rather than risk this happening again. In all fairness, I cannot be 100% sure this product caused the problem. All other food my dog gets is organic meats and vegetables that we eat as well. And we have had no liver problems. I will gladly pay more money for USA products that support USA jobs. Which is why I switched to the Colorado brand treats.
213597213597B00141OVJAA38BLIS5VGGL84BB0051349222400Vitality Mini Chicken treatsMy dogs love these and they are small enough that I don't feel guilty giving them more than one per day. The only problem is I can't find them in stores so I am stuck with the high rising costs. But my dogs are worth it :)
213598213598B00141OVJAA3I2AAVYHPPMVSbuttons & bows0051345075200Real DealI am a repeat customer for this product. I have three dogs and they all go crazy for this treat. They know by the sound of the bag rattling what they are going to eat. The smell of chicken from these treats is unbelievable! This is a real winner. I'll definitely keep ordering this product.
213599213599B00141OVJAA3O4EU9AIG8RKANancy W. Mccartney0051344556800Dogswell vitality for dogsMy dog just loves minis chicken breasts. They have always been so good for him....keep up thegood work. The treats are small and easy for him to eat as he has bad teeths....
213600213600B00141OVJAA2LP3IU2OKPCE1WT3521308614400made my dog sick...The treats were very hard. My dog still seemed to enjoy them so I continued to feed them to her little bits at a time. However, my dog's poop started getting very mushy and today started throwing up. The only big change were these treats, so I don't think they are right for my dog. Maybe you will have better luck.

* Görseller ve İçerik tekif hakkına sahip olabilir